Provincial Grand Lodge of Renfrewshire East

PGL Tri Annual Oct 2023

Sorrow and Silverware at PGLRE Tri Annual

The Tri Annual meeting f of Provincial Grand Lodge of Renfrewshire East held on Friday 27 October in Lodge Georgetown No. 1170 began on a sombre note.

No less than six eulogies were given on behalf of well-loved Brethren who had recently passed to Grand Lodge Above.

Earlier RWPGM Bro. Ronald E. Fraser had opened PGL and welcomed a Deputation from Provincial Grand Lodge of Dunbartonshire headed by RWPGM Bro. David S. Irving.

The first Eulogy was given on behalf of Bro. Archibald M. McGown who was RWM of Lodge Burnside No.1361 in 1963 and rose through the ranks of Freemasonry to become Depute Grand Master in 2009.

This was followed by Eulogies to three Past Provincial Grand Senior Wardens of Renfrewshire East: Bro. John Watson, a PM of Lodge Georgetown No. 1170, served as PGSW in 2002; Bro. Brian Morton, a PM of Lodge Union & Crown No. 307 held the position in 2006 and Bro. Edward Chamberlain, a PM of Lodge The Royal Stuart No.1414 was PGSW in 2011.

Eulogies were also given on behalf of Bro. Charles McIntosh who served as RWM of Lodge Gleniffer No.1219 in 1977 and Bro. William McJimpsey who served as RWM of Lodge St. Andrew No.524 in 1993 and 1996.

Turning to general business, DPGM Bro. Chris Kerr drew the attention of Brethren to the Prostate Awareness Initiative that had been launched as a joint venture between all Masonic orders in the area along with a Mental Health Initiative that was about to be launched in the Province.

SPGM Bro. Gavin Burt then installed Bro. Robert Boyd as a PG Steward and SPGM Bro. Scott Bogle, Bro. Alan McGregor PM and PSPGM Bro. William Fleming were presented with Intender Certificates.

The meeting concluded with the annual presentation of sporting silverware headlined by Bro. Ian Wylie of Lodge Douglas No. 1557 who completed a historic “grand slam” by winning all four golf trophies.

He won the Major Allan along with Bro. Peter Aitken of Lodge Douglas, the Stableford and Robert Watt trophies in his own right and the McMenemy Trophy along with Bro. Gordon McTaggart of Lodge Douglas.

Runner-up in the Stableford was Bro. Callum Samuel of Lodge Renfrew County Kilwinning No. 370 and runners-up in the McMenemy were Bro. Andrew Greig and Bro. Bro. Stuart Brown of The Lodge of Erskine No. 1556.

In bowling, competition winners of the Lord Blytheswood trophy were Lodge Houston St. Johnstone No.242 with runners-up Lodge Craigends No. 1042. The Craigends Quaich was won by Lodge Craigielea No.1218 with Lodge Paisley St. James No 1116 as runners-up and the Sam Love Trophy was won by Lodge St. Conval No.1359 with Lodge Houston St. Johnstone No. 242 as runners-up.